Thread: Would You Look?

Default Would You Look?

You may or may not know that I work with pension statements for a living. Well, this week I've been told that my next Client will be our own firm - I've got to process the pension statements for everyone in the office. This means I've been given access to the pension and salary details of all my colleagues and my bosses. At the click of a button, I can see on my screen what anyone else is earning.

It's an interesting moral question. No-one would know if I took a peek at what my colleagues, or my boss, was earning. Yet I'm not sure if knowing this would neccesarily lead to happiness.

What do you think. Would you look?

Incidentally, I have already decided that I'm NOT going to look at anyone's information, purely for a 'personal honour' reason. I just wondered what your take on it was - answer honestly!

Si.

I'd look. It shouldn't be an issue!

Sounds a bit obnoxious, perhaps, but I trust myself to be responsible with the knowledge, not to gossip down the pub etc. I'm happy with what I earn.

It doesn't matter what everybody else is on.
    Pity. I have no understanding of the word. It is not registered in my vocabulary bank. EXTERMINATE!

By the way, although I've been warned not to leave data on shared drives or in an insecure place, I've not been told not to look at the data of friends or associates; in fact it's probably expected that I'll HAVE to see it in order to work on it.

Si.

I can look at personal finance details of people I work with but have never done so. I can see why someone might be tempted particularly in the circumstances described but knowing may not make you feel more postive IMO about your workplace and it might have the opposite effect? In any event from your description you will inevitably see the details in any case.

In any event from your description you will inevitably see the details in any case.