WhiteCrow Guest

Default Amazon are morons ...

I've been reading a book on Martian geology this weekend, and I quite fancied something similar on the Moon.

So off I trot to use the Amazon search engine. The keyworld "Moon" brings too much, so I use the category, "Science & Nature Astronomy & Cosmology".

And what do I get?

• The Key of Life: Astrology of the Lunar Nodes by Prash Trivedi
    • Moon Lore by Timothy Harley
    • Moon Magic: Myth and Magic, Crafts and Recipes, Rituals and Spells (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) by David Conway
    • The Moon and Everyday Living: Use Lunar Energies to Transform Your Life by Daniel Pharr
    • The Moon and How to Observe It: An Advanced Handbook for Students of the Moon in the 21st Century (Astronomer's Observing Guides) by Peter Grego

Perhaps I should complain about the last one, you know a genuine science book listed under science?

It's a big issue for me, I have a degree in Physics and Astronomy. For a lot of very thicky people that means I can do Horoscopes. Astronomy is a science, Astrology is something else. I really would have hoped an organisation like Amazon would get it right.

I know we have a few librarians on here, and feel tempted to sneak in and find out how close they put the Astrology books to the Astronomy ones. If they're mixed in, prepare for a world of grief! [And don't give me "a punter/customer must have put that there"]

Captain Tancredi Guest

Haven't tried it recently, but something similar happened to me a couple of years ago when I was after a book about the Maya- all it could offer me was a lot of Celestine Prophecy-type stuff rather than the actual historical civilisation.

I just did the same search - "Books "moon" Science & Nature Astronomy & Cosmology" and the results I got were

1. The Man Who Ran the Moon: James Webb, JFK and the Secret History of Project Apollo by Piers Bizony
    2. A Man on the Moon: The Voyages of the Apollo Astronauts by Andrew Chaikin