Pip Madeley Guest

Default Police Squad! In Color!

Any fans of the Police Squad! TV series and the Naked Gun films? I've just been watching an episode and despite having seen it a number of times, I still laughed out loud. It's a fantastic spoof on those old 1970s police dramas, I love the fact that everyone plays it totally straight. The gags come thick and fast, both visual and spoken, and you really don't appreciate them all unless you've watched it a few times - I think that's why it never really took off at the time, you really had to watch it closely. Really was a fantastic series, one of the funniest comedy shows of all time in my opinion.

Favourite moments or quotes, anyone? One of mine is this classic:

"We're sorry to bother you at such a time like this, Mrs. Twice. We would have come earlier, but your husband wasn't dead then."

and...

Dutch Gunderson: "Who are you and how did you get in here?"
    Det. Frank Drebin: "I'm a locksmith. And, I'm a locksmith."

It is a fantastic series, isn't it?

IIRC they didn't make that many episodes, but I too LOL'd all the way through the series when it was on BBC2 years ago.

The only bit I can specifically remember is where an ex-boxer wanted to marry his washing machine!

I loved it, but I haven't seen it for years. The bits I liked were the "freeze frames" at the end of each episode. I remember finding the one where someone was pouring hot coffee onto someone else killingly funny at the time.

Si xx

I've just got my handcuffs and my truncheon and that's enough.

Pip Madeley Guest

Quote Originally Posted by Antony Cox View Post
    It is a fantastic series, isn't it?

IIRC they didn't make that many episodes, but I too LOL'd all the way through the series when it was on BBC2 years ago.
    Only six episodes, but they're available on DVD, definitely worth a purchase!

Thanks, Pip! That'll be going on my Christmas list, for sure!