Thread: Spotify

Pip Madeley Guest

Default Spotify

Does anyone else use Spotify?

It's a free, legal online music service which lets you stream music direct to your computer - the only thing is you get a 10-second advert every 20 minutes. It looks like iTunes and it's very slick - recommended!

Quote Originally Posted by Pip Madeley View Post
    Does anyone else use Spotify?

It's a free, legal online music service which lets you stream music direct to your computer - the only thing is you get a 10-second advert every 20 minutes. It looks like iTunes and it's very slick - recommended!

Sounds like something George Bush would say. Hadn't heard of it myself.

I've been running this for about 8 months now, the holes in the collection make it a little irritating but I've found it very useful for tracking down little oddities. Like the time I really wanted to listen to Jeff Wayne's War of The Worlds, it saved me £18.

I've also found some interesting classical tracks, one of which turns up in a forthcoming PS Audio.
    Pity. I have no understanding of the word. It is not registered in my vocabulary bank. EXTERMINATE!

Pip Madeley Guest

I've been using Spotify for months now, but I'm interested to see that musical legend Peter Gabriel is behind We7 which works on a similar basis except there's no sign up required and it all works through your browser.

Decent selection too, it explains why I couldn't find Peter Gabriel's back catalogue on Spotify anyway...

I'm very quickly becoming a Spotify fan. I only joined last week, but since then I've listened to loads of great stuff- from Radiophonic Workshop rarities to the new Benny Andersson album (which I didn't even realise had been released!). In fact if I'm not careful I'll turn this into a Today I Spotified thread cos there's so much great stuff to find!

At the moment I'm listening to The White Noise- An Electric Storm- an electric- psychedelic album from Delia Derbyshire and Brian Hodgson among others.

Si xx